What is Industry 4.0?

Industry 4.00, the fourth industrial revolution, refers to the period in which information technology is integrated into traditional processes, and Industry 4.0 (Industry 4.0) refers to the period when machines can work independently in cooperation with humans.

Industry and machines are becoming entities that can collect, analyze and advise on data. It can communicate with machines through computers and the internet, and machines can communicate with each other or with people over the internet.

History of Industry 4.0

Machines powered by water and steam power have been replaced by systems working with electrical energy with the production of electricity over time and the mass production process has started. With the developments in information technologies, automation has increased and production has also been automated.

Industry 4.0, which is the fourth Industrial Revolution, with the further increase in mechanization and automation, humans and machines communicate with each other in cyber-physical systems.


What are the Components of Industry 4.0?

Industry 4.0, big data analysis, 3D printers, smart sensors and smart grids necessitate the integration of many advanced technologies into production and service processes and the digitalization of all processes in the value chain. The nine basic technologies that came to the fore in the Industry 4.0 era are shown in the figure below.

VQA Activities in Industry 4.00 Professions

With the digital transformation required by Industry 4.00, new occupations are emerging and new business areas are emerging.

The Vocational Qualifications Authority has developed and put into effect occupational standards and qualifications in various fields such as artificial intelligence, digital transformation, cloud computing, blockchain in order to serve the change and transformation in human resources, taking into account the technologies required for Industry 4.00. Testing and certification activities will be started in these areas in the near future.

In this context, the professions for which national occupational standards/national qualifications are prepared:


• Digital Industry Operator
• Robotic Systems Operator
• Nanotechnology Application Operator
• Cyber Security Officer
• Cloud Computing Analyst
• Embedded System Developer

• Artificial Intelligence System Analyst
• Blockchain Analyst
• Blockchain Programmer
• Artificial Intelligence Programmer
• Ethical Hacker
• Digital Transformation Staff